North Carolina Voters for Animal Welfare Follow us on Facebook

Senate Report Card

Grades are based on the 2013 session, and have not been updated for 2015 yet.

Legislators are given points for voting for animal welfare bills, sponsoring animal welfare bills, completing the NCVAW survey, and responsiveness to animal advocates constituents. There have only been a few animal welfare bills up to this point. As bills are introduced and voted on NCVAW will adjust the formula for final rating.

Search by last name:

Senator John M. Alexander, Jr.

Grade (2013): Not Yet Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade
District: Senate # 15
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: John.Alexander@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5850
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Tom Apodaca

Grade (2013): F
Reason For Grade: Refuses to meet with animal advocates and stopped commercial dog breeder legislation
District: Senate # 48
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5745
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Chad Barefoot

Grade (2013): F
Reason For Grade: Refuses to discuss commercial dog breeder legislation
District: Senate # 18
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3036
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Tamara Barringer

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 17
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5653
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Philip E. (Phil) Berger

Grade (2013): F
Reason For Grade: Refuses to meet with animal advocates and stopped commercial dog breeder legislation
District: Senate # 26
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Phil.Berger@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5708
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Stan Bingham

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 33
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5665
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Dan Blue

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 14
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Dan.Blue@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5752
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Andrew C. Brock

Grade (2013): D
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 34
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-0690
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Harry Brown

Grade (2013): C
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 6
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Harry.Brown@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3034
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Angela R. Bryant

Grade (2013): B+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 4
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5878
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Ben Clark

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 21
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Ben.Clark@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-9349
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Bill Cook

Grade (2013): F
Reason For Grade: As Committee Chair worked against HB930 that would have provided standards for commercial dog breeders
District: Senate # 1
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Bill.Cook@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-8293
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator David L. Curtis

Grade (2013): C
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 44
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: David.Curtis@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3038
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Warren Daniel

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 46
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-7823
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Don Davis

Grade (2013): A
Reason For Grade: Sponsored original commercial dog breeder bill.
District: Senate # 5
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Don.Davis@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-8363
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Jim Davis

Grade (2013): D-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 50
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Jim.Davis@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5875
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Joel Ford

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 38
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Joel.Ford@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5955
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Valerie P. Foushee

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 23
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Valerie.Foushee@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5804
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Rick Gunn

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 24
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net
Phone: 301-1446
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Kathy Harrington

Grade (2013): B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 43
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5734
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Fletcher L. Hartsell

Grade (2013): B
Reason For Grade: Very supportive of HB930
District: Senate # 36
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-7223
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Ralph Hise

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 47
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-3460
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Brent Jackson

Grade (2013): F
Reason For Grade: Primary Ag Gag Bill sponsor
District: Senate # 10
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5705
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Jeff Jackson

Grade (2013): A
Reason For Grade: Very supportive on animal welfare issues and open to all constituent contact
District: Senate # 37
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Jeff.Jackson@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-8331
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Joyce Krawiec

Grade (2013): Not Yet Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade
District: Senate # 31
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-7850
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Michael Lee

Grade (2013): Not Yet Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade
District: Senate # 9
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Michael.Lee@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-2525
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Paul A. Lowe, Jr.

Grade (2013): Not Yet Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade
District: Senate # 32
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Paul.Lowe@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5620
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Tom McInnis

Grade (2013): Not Yet Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade
District: Senate # 25
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Tom.McInnis@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5953
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Floyd B. McKissick

Grade (2013): A
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 20
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-4599
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Wesley Meredith

Grade (2013): F
Reason For Grade: Primary Ag Gag Bill sponsor
District: Senate # 19
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5776
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Buck Newton

Grade (2013): D
Reason For Grade: Gutted and killed cock fighting bill
District: Senate # 11
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Buck.Newton@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3030
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Louis M. Pate

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 7
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Louis.Pate@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5621
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Ronald Rabin

Grade (2013): B+
Reason For Grade: Positive survey responses
District: Senate # 12
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5748
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Bill Rabon

Grade (2013): F-
Reason For Grade: Worked to stop HB930
District: Senate # 8
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5963
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Shirley Blackburn Randleman

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 30
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5743
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Gladys A. Robinson

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 28
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3042
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Robert (Bob) Rucho

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 39
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5655
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Norman W. Sanderson

Grade (2013): A-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 2
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5706
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Erica Smith-Ingram

Grade (2013): Not Yet Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade
District: Senate # 3
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Erica.Smith-Ingram@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3040
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Jane W. Smith

Grade (2013): Not Yet Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade
District: Senate # 13
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Jane.Smith@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5651
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Dan Soucek

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 45
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5742
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Josh Stein

Grade (2013): B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 16
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Josh.Stein@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-6400
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Jeff Tarte

Grade (2013): B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 41
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3050
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Jerry W. Tillman

Grade (2013): D-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 29
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5870
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Tommy Tucker

Grade (2013): C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 35
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-7659
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Terry Van Duyn

Grade (2013): Not Yet Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade
District: Senate # 49
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3001
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Joyce Waddell

Grade (2013): Not Yet Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade
District: Senate # 40
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Joyce.Waddell@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5650
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Trudy Wade

Grade (2013): C+
Reason For Grade: Aligned on the commercial dog breeder bill with Senator Bill Rabon
District: Senate # 27
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5856
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Andy Wells

Grade (2013): B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 42
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Andy.Wells@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5876
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Mike Woodard

Grade (2013): B+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 22
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-4809
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page