North Carolina Voters for Animal Welfare Follow us on Facebook

Senate Report Card

Legislators are given points for voting for animal welfare bills, sponsoring animal welfare bills, completing the NCVAW survey, and responsiveness to animal advocates constituents. There have only been a few animal welfare bills up to this point. As bills are introduced and voted on NCVAW will adjust the formula for final rating.

Search by last name:

Senator John M. Alexander, Jr.

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 15
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: John.Alexander@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5850
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Tom Apodaca

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: Stopped all progress of commercial dog breeder legislation in Senate for last 3 years
District: Senate # 48
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5745
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Chad Barefoot

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: Refuses to discuss commercial dog breeder legislation
District: Senate # 18
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3036
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Tamara Barringer

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 17
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5653
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Philip E. (Phil) Berger

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: Stopped all progress of commercial dog breeder legislation in Senate for last 3 years
District: Senate # 26
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Phil.Berger@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5708
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Stan Bingham

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: B-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 33
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5665
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Dan Blue

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 14
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Dan.Blue@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5752
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Andrew C. Brock

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 34
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-0690
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Harry Brown

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 6
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Harry.Brown@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3034
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Angela R. Bryant

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: A
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 4
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5878
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Ben Clark

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 21
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Ben.Clark@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-9349
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Bill Cook

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: As Committee Chair worked against 2013 HB930 that would have provided standards for commercial dog breeders
District: Senate # 1
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Bill.Cook@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-8293
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator David L. Curtis

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 44
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: David.Curtis@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3038
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Warren Daniel

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 46
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-7823
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Don Davis

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: A
Reason For Grade: Sponsored original commercial dog breeder bill.
District: Senate # 5
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Don.Davis@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-8363
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Jim Davis

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 50
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Jim.Davis@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5875
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Joel Ford

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 38
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Joel.Ford@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5955
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Valerie P. Foushee

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 23
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Valerie.Foushee@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5804
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Rick Gunn

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 24
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net
Phone: 301-1446
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Kathy Harrington

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 43
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5734
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Fletcher L. Hartsell

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: B-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 36
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-7223
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Ralph Hise

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 47
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-3460
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Brent Jackson

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: Primary Ag Gag Bill sponsor
District: Senate # 10
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5705
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Jeff Jackson

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: A
Reason For Grade: Very supportive on animal welfare issues and open to all constituent contact
District: Senate # 37
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Jeff.Jackson@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-8331
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Joyce Krawiec

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 31
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-7850
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Michael Lee

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 9
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Michael.Lee@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-2525
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Paul A. Lowe, Jr.

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 32
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Paul.Lowe@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5620
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Tom McInnis

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 25
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Tom.McInnis@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5953
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Floyd B. McKissick

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: A
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 20
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-4599
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Wesley Meredith

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: Primary Ag Gag Bill sponsor
District: Senate # 19
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5776
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Buck Newton

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D+
Reason For Grade: Gutted and killed cock fighting bill
District: Senate # 11
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Buck.Newton@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3030
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Louis M. Pate

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 7
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Louis.Pate@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5621
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Ronald Rabin

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 12
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5748
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Bill Rabon

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F-
Reason For Grade: Hostile towards animal advocates
District: Senate # 8
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5963
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Shirley Blackburn Randleman

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 30
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5743
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Gladys A. Robinson

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 28
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3042
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Robert (Bob) Rucho

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 39
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5655
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Norman W. Sanderson

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 2
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5706
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Erica Smith-Ingram

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 3
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Erica.Smith-Ingram@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3040
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Jane W. Smith

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 13
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Jane.Smith@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5651
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Dan Soucek

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 45
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5742
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Josh Stein

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 16
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Josh.Stein@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-6400
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Jeff Tarte

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 41
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3050
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Jerry W. Tillman

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 29
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5870
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Tommy Tucker

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 35
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-7659
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Terry Van Duyn

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 49
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net
Phone: 715-3001
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Joyce Waddell

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 40
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: No
Email: Joyce.Waddell@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5650
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Trudy Wade

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: Sponsors bills harmful to animals and aligns with opposition of commercial dog breeder regulations
District: Senate # 27
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5856
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Andy Wells

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: C-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 42
Party: Republican
Responded to survey: No
Email: Andy.Wells@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-5876
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page

Senator Mike Woodard

Profile Page: Click here for profile page
Grade: D+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
District: Senate # 22
Party: Democratic
Responded to survey: Yes
Email: Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net
Phone: 733-4809
NCGA website: Click here for NCGA page