North Carolina Voters for Animal Welfare Follow us on Facebook

Senate Report Card

Legislators are given points for voting for animal welfare bills, sponsoring animal welfare bills, completing the NCVAW survey, and responsiveness to animal advocates constituents. There have only been a few animal welfare bills up to this point. As bills are introduced and voted on NCVAW will adjust the formula for final rating.

Search by last name:

Senator Austin M. Allran

District: Senate #42
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Alexander,Catawba
Email: Austin.Allran@ncleg.net
Phone: 828/322-1410
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Tom M. Apodaca

District: Senate #48
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Buncombe,Henderson,Transylvania
Email: Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net
Phone: 828/696-0574
Responded to survey: No
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: Refuses to meet with animal advocates and stopped commercial dog breeder legislation

Senator Chad Barefoot

District: Senate #18
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Franklin,Wake
Email: Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/715-3036
Responded to survey: No
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: Refuses to discuss commercial dog breeder legislation

Senator Tamara Barringer

District: Senate #17
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Wake
Email: Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/733-5653
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Philip Edward Berger

District: Senate #26
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Guilford,Rockingham
Email: Phil.Berger@ncleg.net
Phone: 336/623-5210
Responded to survey: No
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: Refuses to meet with animal advocates and stopped commercial dog breeder legislation

Senator Stan Bingham

District: Senate #33
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Davidson,Montgomery
Email: Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net
Phone: 336/859-0999
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Daniel T. Blue

District: Senate #14
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Wake
Email: Dan.Blue@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/833-1931
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Andrew C. Brock

District: Senate #34
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Davie,Iredell,Rowan
Email: Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net
Phone: 704/762-1467
Responded to survey: No
Grade: D
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Harry Brown

District: Senate #6
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Jones,Onslow
Email: Harry.Brown@ncleg.net
Phone: 910/347-3777
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Angela R. Bryant

District: Senate #4
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Halifax,Nash,Vance,Warren,Wilson
Email: Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net
Phone: 252-442-4022
Responded to survey: No
Grade: B+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Robert B. Clark

District: Senate #21
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Cumberland,Hoke
Email: Ben.Clark@ncleg.net
Phone:
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Daniel G. Clodfelter

District: Senate #
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Mecklenburg
Email: Daniel.Clodfelter@ncleg.net
Phone: 704/331-1041
Responded to survey: No
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
Note: Resigned 04/08/2014 from Senate District 37

Senator William M. Cook

District: Senate #1
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Beaufort,Camden,Currituck,Dare,Gates,Hyde,Pasquotank,Perquimans
Email: Bill.Cook@ncleg.net
Phone: 252/946-5876
Responded to survey: No
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: As Committee Chair worked against HB930 that would have provided standards for commercial dog breeders

Senator David L. Curtis

District: Senate #44
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Gaston,Iredell,Lincoln
Email: David.Curtis@ncleg.net
Phone: 704/483-2263
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Warren Daniel

District: Senate #46
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Burke,Cleveland
Email: Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net
Phone: 828/433-0700
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Don Davis

District: Senate #5
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Greene,Lenoir,Pitt,Wayne
Email: Don.Davis@ncleg.net
Phone: 252/341-5548
Responded to survey: Yes
Grade: A
Reason For Grade: Sponsored original commercial dog breeder bill.

Senator James W. Davis

District: Senate #50
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Cherokee,Clay,Graham,Haywood,Jackson,Macon,Swain
Email: Jim.Davis@ncleg.net
Phone: 828/342-4483
Responded to survey: No
Grade: D-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Joel Ford

District: Senate #38
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Mecklenburg
Email: Joel.Ford@ncleg.net
Phone: 704/333-8878
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Valerie P. Foushee

District: Senate #23
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Chatham,Orange
Email: Valerie.Foushee@ncleg.net
Phone:
Responded to survey: No
Grade: Not Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade

Senator Thomas C. Goolsby

District: Senate #9
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: New Hanover
Email: Thom.Goolsby@ncleg.net
Phone: 910/763-3339
Responded to survey: No
Grade: B+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
Note: Resigned 08/04/2014 Senate district#9

Senator Malcolm Graham

District: Senate #40
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Mecklenburg
Email: Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net
Phone: 704/576-4568
Responded to survey: No
Grade: D
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Rick Gunn

District: Senate #24
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Alamance,Randolph
Email: Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net
Phone: 336/229-6981
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Kathryn Harrington

District: Senate #43
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Gaston
Email: Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/733-5734
Responded to survey: No
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Fletcher L. Hartsell

District: Senate #36
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Cabarrus,Union
Email: Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net
Phone: 704/786-5161
Responded to survey: No
Grade: B
Reason For Grade: Very supportive of HB930

Senator Ralph Hise

District: Senate #47
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Madison,McDowell,Mitchell,Polk,Rutherford,Yancey
Email: Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net
Phone: 828/766-8329
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Neal Hunt

District: Senate #15
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Wake
Email: Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/781-3464
Responded to survey: Yes
Grade: A
Reason For Grade: Very supportive of HB930

Senator Brent Jackson

District: Senate #10
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Duplin,Johnston,Sampson
Email: Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net
Phone: 910/567-2202
Responded to survey: No
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: Primary Ag Gag Bill sponsor

Senator Jeff Jackson

District: Senate #37
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Mecklenburg
Email: Jeff.Jackson@ncleg.net
Phone: (704) 942-0118
Responded to survey: Yes
Grade: A
Reason For Grade: Very supportive on animal welfare issues and open to all constituent contact
Note: APPOINTED 05/06/2014

Senator S. Clark Jenkins

District: Senate #3
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Bertie,Chowan,Edgecombe,Hertford,Martin,Northampton,Tyrrell,Washington
Email: Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net
Phone: 252/823-7029
Responded to survey: No
Grade: D
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Joyce Krawiec

District: Senate #31
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Forsyth, Yadkin
Email: Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net
Phone: 336/996-7972
Responded to survey: No
Grade: Not Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade

Senator Floyd B. McKissick

District: Senate #20
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Durham,Granville
Email: Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/733-4599
Responded to survey: Yes
Grade: A
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Eugene B. McLaurin

District: Senate #25
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Anson,Richmond,Rowan,Scotland,Stanly
Email: Gene.McLaurin@ncleg.net
Phone:
Responded to survey: Yes
Grade: A
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Wesley A. Meredith

District: Senate #19
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Cumberland
Email: Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net
Phone: 910/867-9595
Responded to survey: No
Grade: F
Reason For Grade: Primary Ag Gag Bill sponsor

Senator Martin L. Nesbitt (Deceased)

District: Senate #49
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Buncombe
Email: Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net
Phone: 828/252-0490
Responded to survey: No
Grade: A
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents
Note: Deceased 03/06/2014

Senator E. S. (Buck) Newton

District: Senate #11
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Johnston,Nash,Wilson
Email: Buck.Newton@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/715-3030
Responded to survey: No
Grade: D
Reason For Grade: Gutted and killed cock fighting bill

Senator Earline Parmon

District: Senate #32
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Forsyth
Email: Earline.Parmon@ncleg.net
Phone:
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Louis M. Pate

District: Senate #7
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Lenoir,Pitt,Wayne
Email: Louis.Pate@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/658-3637
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Ronald J. Rabin

District: Senate #12
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Harnett,Johnston,Lee
Email: Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net
Phone: 910/489-4699
Responded to survey: Yes
Grade: B+
Reason For Grade: Positive survey responses

Senator William P. Rabon

District: Senate #8
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Bladen,Brunswick,New Hanover,Pender
Email: Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net
Phone: 910/457-5110
Responded to survey: No
Grade: F-
Reason For Grade: Worked to stop HB930

Senator Shirley Randleman

District: Senate #30
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Stokes,Surry,Wilkes
Email: Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net
Phone: 336/921-2043
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Gladys Robinson

District: Senate #28
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Guilford
Email: Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/715-3042
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Robert Rucho

District: Senate #39
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Mecklenburg
Email: Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/733-5655
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Norman Sanderson

District: Senate #2
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Carteret,Craven,Pamlico
Email: Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net
Phone: 252/444-4404
Responded to survey: No
Grade: A-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Daniel F. Soucek

District: Senate #45
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Alleghany,Ashe,Avery,Caldwell,Watauga
Email: Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/733-5742
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Joshua H. Stein

District: Senate #16
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Wake
Email: Josh.Stein@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/803-7803
Responded to survey: No
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Jeff Tarte

District: Senate #41
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Mecklenburg
Email: Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net
Phone: 704/765-6167
Responded to survey: No
Grade: B
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Jerry W. Tillman

District: Senate #29
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Moore,Randolph
Email: Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net
Phone: 336/431-5325
Responded to survey: No
Grade: D-
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Tommy Tucker

District: Senate #35
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Union
Email: Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net
Phone: 704/596-8200 Ext. 109
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator Terry Van Duyn

District: Senate #49
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Buncombe
Email: Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net
Phone: (828) 277-8554
Responded to survey: Yes
Grade: Not Graded
Reason For Grade: Has not been in office long enough to assign grade
Note: APPOINTED 04/15/2014

Senator Trudy Wade

District: Senate #27
2014 Election:
Party: Republican
Counties: Guilford
Email: Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net
Phone: 336/454-3171
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C+
Reason For Grade: Aligned on the commercial dog breeder bill with Senator Bill Rabon

Senator Michael P. Walters

District: Senate #13
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Columbus,Robeson
Email: Michael.Walters@ncleg.net
Phone: 910/628-7075
Responded to survey: No
Grade: C
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents

Senator J. Michael Woodard

District: Senate #22
2014 Election:
Party: Democrat
Counties: Caswell,Durham,Person
Email: Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net
Phone: 919/599-5143
Responded to survey: Yes
Grade: B+
Ranking Created By: Voting record, responsiveness to inquiries, and feedback from constituents